September 29, 2023

CSU Awards Joanne Southerland Outstanding Law Enforcement Professional

This month, CSU awards its 2018 Outstanding Law Enforcement Professional of the Year award to a very deserving Joanne Southerland of the Clayton County Fire & Emergency Services whose sincere efforts have changed lives.

For the past 13 years, Southerland of Griffin, Georgia, has worked on more than 1,000 child exploitation cases at the local, state and federal level. Southerland, who is seeking a bachelor’s in criminal justice administration, was humble about receiving the award.

“I am very thankful to CSU for this recognition,” said Southerland, an emergency communications officer with Clayton County Fire & Emergency Services. “I always wanted to do something that matters. I am thankful for the career path chosen but my biggest accomplishment is the rescue of children and protecting them from abuse, neglect and or sexual exploitation.”

The runner-up for the 2018 Outstanding Law Enforcement Professional Award was Lt. Jeff Ploof of Rome, Georgia. He works in the jail division of the Floyd County Sheriff’s Office and has worked there since 1990. He is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice administration.

The award was established as part of National Crime Prevention Month and to recognize CSU law enforcement students and graduates for their commitment to safety, professionalism and their accomplishments in the industry.

Many CSU students and graduates submitted their nominations for this award. After review, faculty chose Southerland and Ploof based on the above criteria, her dedication to her community and law enforcement.

Tamara Mouras, Ph.D, CSU’s academic program director for criminal justice and homeland security, echoed Southerland’s dedication.

“Oftentimes, the innocent population is children who are in need of an advocate for their safety. Joanne represents a positive advocate for children and their well-being,” said Mouras.

Special congratulation goes to the finalists for the award:

Rhonda Alderman

Marcus Anderson

Adam Basatemur

James Franquiz

Levi Hales

Kristopher Hall

Trevor Hall

Joseph House

Lisa King

Cyrus Robinson

Deanna Strout

Robert Woeller

CSU is proud have had so many great nominees compete for this award and we thank all those who participated.