September 27, 2023

CSU Awards Stephanie Humberd as Outstanding Fire Service Professional

Columbia Southern University recently awarded its 2018 Outstanding Fire Service Professional Award to Stephanie Humberd of the Burkburnett Volunteer Fire Department and Sheppard Air Force Base Fire Department.

Humberd, who is seeking a bachelor’s degree in fire administration, decided to go into the fire service after earning her EMT license in 2003.

“One of the firemen said I should check out the fire department and invited me to visit,” she said. “So I did and everything has evolved from that moment.”

Since 2016, she has worked with the department and its various community programs such as the Fire Explorers, which she was a member of as a youth. It is one of the career-oriented programs offered by Learning for Life, a branch of the Boy Scouts of America, that exposes the major aspects of the fire service to young adults ages 14-21.

“I really enjoy teaching and working with the youth and helping them with the career paths they want to pursue,” said Humberd. “I currently have six youth in the program that train with us every week. They have participated in fire games the past two years and placed first and third in different games.”

Todd Olague of the Shreveport Fire Department was selected as the runner-up for this year’s award. He is big proponent of education, training and enjoys mentoring.

The award was established as part of National Fire Prevention Month and to recognize CSU fire service students and graduates for their commitment to safety, professionalism and their accomplishments in the industry.

Many students submitted nominations and CSU faculty selected Humberd based on the above criteria, her dedication to her community and the fire service. Special congratulation goes to the finalists for the award:

Joshua Boehme

Cole Brewer

Ryan Clifford

James Conner

Patrick Crockett

Mark Gehri

David George

Sheena Glover

Anthony Grimaldi

Brian Haley

Michael Hardin

Chris Heckman

Stephan Hutchins

Philip Insco

Tim McCawley

Charles McLeod

Dave McQuerry

Chad Menard

Philip Quinn Narcis

Shawn Laws

Edward Lipscomb

Sean Roth

Garrett Ryan

James Sample

Sharief Scarbriel

Melvin Self

Brian Tyson

Eric Valles

Matthew Yackley

CSU is proud have had so many great nominees compete for this award and we thank all those who participated.