September 30, 2023

Alumni News Roundup | January

Officer Joins Iowa City Police Force
“Two new Iowa City Police officers were sworn in at city hall on Monday. Doug Roling, 41, is a 2004 Iowa Law Enforcement Academy graduate and served with the Coralville Police Department for 10 years. In 2010, he graduated from Columbia Southern University with a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice Administration. He is a certified bomb technician and Taser instructor.”

Bozek named District Manager at North Shore Bank
“Brian Bozek has been named vice president and central region district manager at Brookfield-based North Shore Bank. Bozek, who graduated from Columbia Southern University and has worked at North Shore for nearly two years, was previously branch manager for the bank’s Burlington branch.”

Dalessandro Tabbed as Norton’s Chief of Police
“Veteran Norton police Sgt. John Dalessandro will be sworn in as the city’s police chief Wednesday. Dalessandro, 47, has been serving as interim chief since the retirement last month of Chief Thad Hete.”

Conway, SC names new Fire Chief
“The city of Conway named a new fire chief Monday. Le Hendrick will succeed Fire Chief Ricky Baker. Hendrick currently serves as the battalion chief for the department. He started as a volunteer fire fighter in 1996. In 2001, the city hired Hendrick as a fire fighter.”

Quincy Police Promoted To Sergeants
“Two new sergeants have been sworn in at the Quincy Police Department. Investigator Mike Wallace and Officer Kevin Brock were promoted last week in a ceremony held at the W.A. Woodham Law Enforcement facility. Working as a full-time officer, Officer Brock was able to earn his AS degree in Criminal Justice at Tallahassee Community College and his Bachelor’s degree in Business Management from Columbia Southern University.”

Hasty Tabbed as RRPD Chief
“Chuck Hasty, currently a captain with the Northampton County Sheriff’s Office, has been named police chief of Roanoke Rapids. City Manager Joseph Scherer announced in a statement that current interim Chief Andy Jackson will serve as deputy chief.”

Brittany Rychlik of Texas named Civil Servant of the Week
“Sugar Land Deputy Court Administrator Brittany Rychlik was surprised to learn that she earned the Texas Court Clerks Association Distinguished Services Award from the Texas Court Clerks Association (TCCA) last month.”

NAPW honors Felica Newsome-Dent as 2014 Professional Woman of the Year
“National Association of Professional Women Announces Felica Newsome-Dent, M.B.A., Program Analyst at CALIBRE Systems, a 2014 Professional Woman of the Year.”

ACJA Recognizes Graduates with Key Awards
In their latest newsletter, the American Criminal Justice Association recognized seven graduates with scholastic honor awards for their outstanding achievements in the field of criminal justice.

Graduate Keys were given to four CSU graduates who received their master’s degrees with a GPA of 3.5 or higher. Those who received Graduate Keys were E. Jay Kolick, Aminatta Ya-Sinah Sesay-Dixon, Harold A. Kruegar, and John D. Gunther.

Gold Key Awards were given to two CSU graduates who received their bachelor’s degrees with a GPA of 3.5 or higher. Those who received Gold Key Awards were Wendy L. Bundy and Eugene M Yourey II.

A Silver Key Award was given to one CSU graduate who received his associate’s degree with a GPA of 3.5 or higher. This Silver Key Award was given to Eugene M Yourey II.

Attention, CSU alumni! Please let us know about your recent job/career achievements, interesting community and civic involvements, and/or other professional or academic accomplishments.